Small Realities

Inside the mind of Lance Schonberg

The End, The Middle, The Beginning

<sigh>  Itunes just downloaded the last episode of Playing for Keeps.  I’d really like to know how things turn out, but if I listen to it, the story will be over.  Yet all good stories must end.  This plus the latest Morevi episode (not the last, fortunately – having two end at the same time would be too much – but the last for a couple of weeks), and I’m going to have a great commute tonight.

Dragon Summer Progress
33,692 / 90,000
(37.4%)

Into chapter 8 and still going strong.  Wish I could have found this level of focus years ago.

I’ve also been doing a lot of editing so far this year with thirteen stories finished a second draft and working on a fourteenth.  Sounds like a lot, but most of them are fairly short, in the 3-4k word range with one significant exception.  I’m working my way up into the longer stories.  The shortest of what I’ve got left for a second run is about 6k and they range up to 24.  One thing I have noticed about second drafts is that they seem to be invariably longer than first drafts.  I think it’s because with the first draft I’m just trying to get the story out of my head and into the computer.  With the second, I’m trying to make it read well.  Third might be for finishing touches, but each story is different.  I’ve got one that’s had three drafts so far and will take one more at least before I’m done with it

Submissions start soon, I think.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

