Small Realities

Inside the mind of Lance Schonberg

Stories in the Wild

I’m trying to pick up steam with story submissions.  “Failing Hope” went out as the anthology submission for The World Is Dead.  I also sent out a flash piece called “The Monkey is Only Bait” a couple of days ago and I’m researching markets to find potential homes for two other stories at the moment.  Add to that a dozen or so of the better stories I’ve finished in the past year that have gone through at least two drafts already, and I could have quite a bit of stuff in circulation in the next month or so.  Hopefully, I can find homes for some (dare I hope all?) of them.

So, what does this mean for my novel writing.  At the moment, nothing.  I’m still putting in my 500 words per day on Heroes Inc.  Editing and revising are separate activities and I’m doing a lot of this on my breaks at work.  It may mean changing my editing goals for after the first draft of Heroes Inc is finished.  I’m actually thinking that Dragon Summer should rest a lot longer or maybe it’s just that I know how much work it’s going to be to fix the narrative difficulties the story has.  I will still work on editing one of the two novellas by the end of the year, but I think I’m going to focus a little more on short fiction.  Novel aside, I have a lot of short stories I want to tell, and always have at least one in progress at the moment.  I’m switching back to nights in a few days, which always gives me more writing time, so hopefully will make a lot of progress in the next month or so.

Releasing stories into the wild, however, even if only two so far, has turned me into a compulsive e-mail checker.  There’s no danger of hearing back about either of them for at least another three weeks, but I’m still checking my e-mail four or five times per day to see if word (good or bad) has arrived on either.  Next time I log into hotmail, though, I have to start on a different sort of writing – messages to the half dozen people who have written to me in the last few days.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

