Small Realities

Inside the mind of Lance Schonberg

Oh, the Humanity

Normal
0

false
false
false

MicrosoftInternetExplorer4

/* Style Definitions */
table.MsoNormalTable
{mso-style-name:”Table Normal”;
mso-tstyle-rowband-size:0;
mso-tstyle-colband-size:0;
mso-style-noshow:yes;
mso-style-parent:””;
mso-padding-alt:0cm 5.4pt 0cm 5.4pt;
mso-para-margin:0cm;
mso-para-margin-bottom:.0001pt;
mso-pagination:widow-orphan;
font-size:10.0pt;
font-family:”Times New Roman”;
mso-ansi-language:#0400;
mso-fareast-language:#0400;
mso-bidi-language:#0400;}

Two days in a row last week, I received e-mail notification of a story acceptance.  Nothing could bring me greater joy, writing-wise.  But to balance that a little bit, I received a rejection on the third day, Saturday.  The rejection isn’t such a big deal as I’ve had twenty-one of them before (and it’s expected), but the feedback, which I usually like to get, was a little brutal this time.  1 – the story moved too slowly.  2 – when it was over, the editors weren’t clear on what the point of the plot had been.

Ouch.

My goal for this story was a build up to a fun and slightly creepy conclusion.  Apparently, the build up was too slow.  The conclusion may have been fun and creepy, but I may not have done enough work to lay things out in a logical way while writing the story.  I tend to be an organic writer about half the time (and this was in that half), writing to see where the story will take me.  On those occasions, first pass editing tends to be pretty heavy.  This particular story had three passes and now seems like it could have used a fourth, or maybe the first should have been more dramatic.  I think I’ll need to revisit this one before I can consider sending it somewhere else.

Still nine stories out looking for homes, and now I’ll add this one to the list of “needs to go back out but with rewrite consideration first.”  There are two more of these and still many stories to just get out of my head.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

