Small Realities

Inside the mind of Lance Schonberg

2009 Goals Revisited

Normal
0

false
false
false

MicrosoftInternetExplorer4

/* Style Definitions */
table.MsoNormalTable
{mso-style-name:”Table Normal”;
mso-tstyle-rowband-size:0;
mso-tstyle-colband-size:0;
mso-style-noshow:yes;
mso-style-parent:””;
mso-padding-alt:0cm 5.4pt 0cm 5.4pt;
mso-para-margin:0cm;
mso-para-margin-bottom:.0001pt;
mso-pagination:widow-orphan;
font-size:10.0pt;
font-family:”Times New Roman”;
mso-ansi-language:#0400;
mso-fareast-language:#0400;
mso-bidi-language:#0400;}

Normal
0

false
false
false

MicrosoftInternetExplorer4

/* Style Definitions */
table.MsoNormalTable
{mso-style-name:”Table Normal”;
mso-tstyle-rowband-size:0;
mso-tstyle-colband-size:0;
mso-style-noshow:yes;
mso-style-parent:””;
mso-padding-alt:0cm 5.4pt 0cm 5.4pt;
mso-para-margin:0cm;
mso-para-margin-bottom:.0001pt;
mso-pagination:widow-orphan;
font-size:10.0pt;
font-family:”Times New Roman”;
mso-ansi-language:#0400;
mso-fareast-language:#0400;
mso-bidi-language:#0400;}

On January 1st, I began this new blog with a list of ten goals for 2009.  Today is the middle day of the year, so I thought it might be interesting to see where I stand on each of them at the half way mark.

  1. Be a better husband and father.  I can’t be the judge on this one.  Only my family can.  But I like to think I’m getting better all the time, and I hope that’s true.  (Suddenly humming a Beatles song.)
  2. Write one novel-length story that doesn’t suck.  Abandoned one after 31,000 words.  I’m currently 37,400 words into a new one and while progress is slow at the moment, there is progress and I’m still enjoying the story.  Does it suck?  Can’t decide that yet, but another one is poking me in the back of the brain so hard I’ve had to start plotting.
  3. Transcribe the drawer of handwritten notes.  The drawer is less still ¾ full and I’ve just found a handful of file folders stuffed with stuff from my mid-20s.  Have to see if any of that is salvageable, too.  Probably not, but it should make for interesting if painful reading.  This goal doesn’t look good for 100% success.
  4. Fifty-two blog entries.  This makes thirty-two so I’m projecting a win on this one.
  5. Twenty-four story submissions.  Twenty-eight so far this year and that’s with zero in May.  Checking this one off.
  6. Attend my first Convention, probably with at least one of the offspring in tow.  Still possible, if far less likely than it was.  My schedule has gotten a lot weirder since I took the promotion at the end of May even if I didn’t technically start the new job until yesterday due to paperwork and red tape, so the Con I’d hoped to attend in July may not be possible.
  7. An online Speculative Fiction magazine or a podcast or both.  I think I’ve settled on the podcast.  I have two that I really want to do but don’t think I can manage the time for both.  One is going to be hard enough, so I have to work things out before taking the next step.  Beyond that still lies a lot of research and work before episode one.
  8. Run the Ottawa Marathon in May, and perhaps another in the fall.  Well, the Ottawa Marathon is safely in the past.  Thanks to a couple of minor injuries early in the year and some laziness later, it never happened for me.  A fall marathon is also pretty unlikely.  The May/June flu and lung infection blew my training right out of the water, probably setting me back even further than I think it has.  Taking a miss on this one.
  9. Sprint distance triathlon/duathlon in August.  Still possible, if barely, and it would be a lot slower than it might have been.  I have to consider this one carefully.   I’ve done very little running again as yet and no cycling whatsoever since kicking the lung infection.  October might be better if I can find something within a reasonable distance.
  10. Shed some weight.  I’d like to be 180 pounds or even less.  Currently tipping the scales at 192, a solid ten pounds lighter than before I got sick and, so far at least, it’s staying off.  Twelve pounds in six months?  Well, maybe.

So, progress?  Absolutely.  I’m not going to hit all ten, but I think things are going pretty well.  I’ll try to do an end of the year update to tell everyone how it all fell out, but I don’t promise it will be on New Year’s Eve since I foresee an excellent chance that I’ll be working.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

