Small Realities

Inside the mind of Lance Schonberg

Outrageous French Accents

Normal
0

false
false
false

EN-CA
X-NONE
X-NONE

MicrosoftInternetExplorer4

/* Style Definitions */
table.MsoNormalTable
{mso-style-name:”Table Normal”;
mso-tstyle-rowband-size:0;
mso-tstyle-colband-size:0;
mso-style-noshow:yes;
mso-style-priority:99;
mso-style-qformat:yes;
mso-style-parent:””;
mso-padding-alt:0cm 5.4pt 0cm 5.4pt;
mso-para-margin:0cm;
mso-para-margin-bottom:.0001pt;
mso-pagination:widow-orphan;
font-size:11.0pt;
font-family:”Calibri”,”sans-serif”;
mso-ascii-font-family:Calibri;
mso-ascii-theme-font:minor-latin;
mso-fareast-font-family:”Times New Roman”;
mso-fareast-theme-font:minor-fareast;
mso-hansi-font-family:Calibri;
mso-hansi-theme-font:minor-latin;
mso-bidi-font-family:”Times New Roman”;
mso-bidi-theme-font:minor-bidi;}

I’ve dipped my toe into the vast ocean of voice acting.  It started a while back when Terry Mixon of the Dead Robots’ Society announced on an open episode that he was working on a full cast audio drama of a Sherlock Holmes story, “A Study In Scarlet” in which I read for Mormon Man 2.  Terry may have abandoned the project, but I hope not.  Reading through, I remember that I used to enjoy Sherlock Holmes and might again given the chance.

A little time passed before part of the outro on an episode of Twin Stars lead me to Audio Drama Talk and from their eventually to Voice Acting Alliance.  There’s a lot of people looking for voice work for a lot of different things.  Between the beginning of August and the middle of September, I’ve found time for a dozen auditions (between work, family, and writing, I don’t have a lot of free time and I’m pretty hard on myself with voice auditions, at least I have been so far).  Out of those, I’ve gotten three small roles, one supporting role (with 20 lines!), and I’m still waiting to hear back on a couple of others.

Two of those roles, including the largest, are characters with French accents.  Let me stress that my real-life French is embarrassing at best, although I’m working on it a little at a time.  My English-speaking French accent, on the other hand, can range between slightly and wildly outrageous (not quite Inspector Clouseau, or Holy Grail, but not bad, I think) and is probably offensive to actual French people, but no one’s complained yet.  Out loud.

And it’s gotten me some entertainment.  I hope it provides some, too.  I’ve also volunteered to voice as yet unknown characters for two podiobook authors whose previous work I’ve enjoyed.  Hope I’m able to help.

Right now I need to work on some Autobot and Decepticon voices, with maybe a zombie moan or two in between.  It’s all about the fun.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

