Small Realities

Inside the mind of Lance Schonberg

The Mantle of Editor

It’s been a busy week since my last post. Mere moments after that post, I learned my spur of the moment offer to edit not one but two anthologies of novella length fiction for Library of Science Fiction and Fantasy Press (the newest sibling of Library of the Living Dead Press) had been accepted and I should send a direct message to the publisher in charge of everything there to start discussing details.

Yes, really.

In the intervening 7 days, I’ve set up the guidelines for the first of those collections (Distant Worlds), had them approved, set up the companion blog for the volumes (and posted twice there), set up the submissions e-mail, gotten the first anthology listed on both Ralan and Duotrope, and opened for submissions (three so far, all today, the 24th).

Yes, really.

Not to mention the miscellaneous dirty looks from my wife now that I have an extra e-mail address to obsessively check.

It’s been a busy week and I think it’s just beginning to sink in what I’ve gotten myself in for.  This is going to be a lot of work, but a lot of fun, too.  I just need to try to minimize the dirty looks from my wife I’ll get from spending even more time in front of the computer.  It’s a good thing I work nights half the time.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

