Small Realities

Inside the mind of Lance Schonberg

What to do When You’re Sick

/* Style Definitions */
table.MsoNormalTable
{mso-style-name:”Table Normal”;
mso-tstyle-rowband-size:0;
mso-tstyle-colband-size:0;
mso-style-noshow:yes;
mso-style-priority:99;
mso-style-qformat:yes;
mso-style-parent:””;
mso-padding-alt:0in 5.4pt 0in 5.4pt;
mso-para-margin-top:0in;
mso-para-margin-right:0in;
mso-para-margin-bottom:10.0pt;
mso-para-margin-left:0in;
line-height:115%;
mso-pagination:widow-orphan;
font-size:11.0pt;
font-family:”Bookman Old Style”,”serif”;
mso-fareast-font-family:Calibri;}

I’ve been really sick the last few days. Probably the Swine Flu as all the symptoms fit. Disappointing because I managed to avoid it when it laid the rest of my family low for a week or so. Thought I was in the clear, but probably someone who should have stayed home from work didn’t and passed it along to a bunch of us.

Something I scribbled in a notebook about half way through the sickness (not that I’m entirely healthy yet, but give me another day or two):

When you’re sick, really sick, are you ever tempted to let the fever spike just to see what kind of dreams it would produce? Or does having that thought mean that I’ve already allowed the fever to get too high?

I may have had some strange dreams anyway, but can’t pull enough of any of them together to call it a memory. I’d say maybe next time, but I don’t really want there to be a next time. Like most people, I don’t enjoy being sick and while I can imagine worse things than H1N1, I don’t really want to experience them directly.

Dream big, I always say. Might just as well dream of perfect, eternal health.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

