Small Realities

Inside the mind of Lance Schonberg

40 Acts of Creation

Normal
0

false
false
false

EN-US
X-NONE
X-NONE

/* Style Definitions */
table.MsoNormalTable
{mso-style-name:”Table Normal”;
mso-tstyle-rowband-size:0;
mso-tstyle-colband-size:0;
mso-style-noshow:yes;
mso-style-priority:99;
mso-style-qformat:yes;
mso-style-parent:””;
mso-padding-alt:0in 5.4pt 0in 5.4pt;
mso-para-margin-top:0in;
mso-para-margin-right:0in;
mso-para-margin-bottom:10.0pt;
mso-para-margin-left:0in;
line-height:115%;
mso-pagination:widow-orphan;
font-size:11.0pt;
font-family:”Calibri”,”sans-serif”;
mso-ascii-font-family:Calibri;
mso-ascii-theme-font:minor-latin;
mso-fareast-font-family:”Times New Roman”;
mso-fareast-theme-font:minor-fareast;
mso-hansi-font-family:Calibri;
mso-hansi-theme-font:minor-latin;
mso-bidi-font-family:”Times New Roman”;
mso-bidi-theme-font:minor-bidi;}

In two weeks, I turn thirty-nine. Not a milestone in and of itself, but it means on that day, I’ll be exactly one year from turning forty. Forty apparently is a milestone. Who knew?

So I’m planning a fairly aggressive creative year for 2010 and I’ve put some thought into the Master Plan. Hmm, I thought, I’m turning 40. That’s a nice round number. Maybe I should tie it in somehow. Maybe I should conceive of a plan for <resonating, echo-y voice> 40 Acts of Creation.

Okay, probably not what I’m going to call it, but you never know.

It’s not that far out there. If I go back and look (and remember, I’m obsessed with numbers), I wrote 48 stories in 2009 (and have one in slow progress right now, but lots of editing going on again this month) and spent about 70,000 words combined on two different novels I’ve put on hold indefinitely but may go back to someday. Not all of those stories have made it to final draft and some things did that I wrote in 2008, but it was a pretty productive year.

2010 will see me step up my game and step out of my comfort zones, not necessarily in terms of genre (although maybe), but in media. I’m planning a podcast and an audio drama, plus some visual stuff (possibly involving stick people). I’m also finally going to get my own website (not counted in the 40) so I need to go out and buy a domain name, figure out hosting services, get some software, etc, etc.

I intend to unveil the Master Plan on my birthday, not with time frames or schedules or anything like that (although you can be sure I’m working those out), but with the actual list of what the 40 Acts of Creation are going to be. I’ve got the list more or less worked out, but I’m not sure about a couple of the things on it. That bit of discomfort tells me I should probably just go for it, but there are one or two things that need a little refinement anyway.

T minus 14 days and counting.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

