Small Realities

Inside the mind of Lance Schonberg

Year of Creation Update #1

Normal
0

false
false
false

EN-CA
X-NONE
X-NONE

/* Style Definitions */
table.MsoNormalTable
{mso-style-name:”Table Normal”;
mso-tstyle-rowband-size:0;
mso-tstyle-colband-size:0;
mso-style-noshow:yes;
mso-style-priority:99;
mso-style-qformat:yes;
mso-style-parent:””;
mso-padding-alt:0cm 5.4pt 0cm 5.4pt;
mso-para-margin-top:0cm;
mso-para-margin-right:0cm;
mso-para-margin-bottom:10.0pt;
mso-para-margin-left:0cm;
line-height:115%;
mso-pagination:widow-orphan;
font-size:11.0pt;
font-family:”Calibri”,”sans-serif”;
mso-ascii-font-family:Calibri;
mso-ascii-theme-font:minor-latin;
mso-fareast-font-family:”Times New Roman”;
mso-fareast-theme-font:minor-fareast;
mso-hansi-font-family:Calibri;
mso-hansi-theme-font:minor-latin;
mso-bidi-font-family:”Times New Roman”;
mso-bidi-theme-font:minor-bidi;}

Normal
0

false
false
false

EN-CA
X-NONE
X-NONE

/* Style Definitions */
table.MsoNormalTable
{mso-style-name:”Table Normal”;
mso-tstyle-rowband-size:0;
mso-tstyle-colband-size:0;
mso-style-noshow:yes;
mso-style-priority:99;
mso-style-qformat:yes;
mso-style-parent:””;
mso-padding-alt:0cm 5.4pt 0cm 5.4pt;
mso-para-margin-top:0cm;
mso-para-margin-right:0cm;
mso-para-margin-bottom:10.0pt;
mso-para-margin-left:0cm;
line-height:115%;
mso-pagination:widow-orphan;
font-size:11.0pt;
font-family:”Calibri”,”sans-serif”;
mso-ascii-font-family:Calibri;
mso-ascii-theme-font:minor-latin;
mso-fareast-font-family:”Times New Roman”;
mso-fareast-theme-font:minor-fareast;
mso-hansi-font-family:Calibri;
mso-hansi-theme-font:minor-latin;
mso-bidi-font-family:”Times New Roman”;
mso-bidi-theme-font:minor-bidi;}

Since my birthday will fall on the last Wednesday of the year, I thought maybe the weekly updates should happen on Wednesdays to match up.  And since I’ve started the bonus Fri-ku project, double posting on Fridays might be a bit much, especially when I’d bet there will be weeks where that will be the only other post (probably quite a few of them).

For my obsessive tracking purposes, I’ve numbered the Acts from 1 to 40, not based on the order I intend to complete them, but the order I set up on the original list.

So, what have I done this first week?

Act 1: Project Stoneweaver. 3,042 words in with the first chapter complete and working on the second.  I’ve got about half the book plotted with a couple of major story points and the ending in mind.  Previous experience tells me that I’m better off not to plot too far in advance.  Not only am I likely to deviate from the outline, I also kind of enjoy cliffhangering myself.

Act 4: Short Story #1. 2,078 words of what I think will wind up being 3.5-4k on a story I intend for submission to the Pill Hill Press anthology “Quest for Atlantis”.  I’m having fun with this story and hope the final draft ends up reading as well to other people as I think it will to me.

Act 26: Distant Worlds anthology.  At this instant, I have 20 submissions and have responded to 16 of them.  One response going out late tonight or early tomorrow and I hope another by Friday.  Submissions are open until January 15th so there may still be more to come.

Act 28: “Star Trek: Fractured Unity” audio drama.  My script consultant is half done with the eight episodes and I’ve got some small revisions to do.  I hope to start casting at the beginning of February and I’ve already started drafting the call to go up on Voice Acting Alliance.  It’s also occurred to me that I’m going to have to figure out sound effects.

Act 29: “Turn the World Around”.  This project has maybe taken a major blow.  Or maybe not.  It’s currently a 31k-word novella written in the first person.  I’ve been thinking a lot about the POV in the last week.  There are a few things I’d like to explore or expand a bit and 1st person interferes with that.  But do I really want to rewrite the whole thing in 3rd?  The answer: only if it’s going to make it a better story.  The thing is, I’m not sure it will.  Unless I become sure, it’s an experiment I’m not interested in attempting.  Editing continues.

Act 34: Recreated 80s music video.  A little late-night Youtube watching has me building a list of possibilities within my tiny (read: non-existent) budget.

Bonus Acts: things not the original schedule or part of the 40, but that happen anyway.  I don’t, for example, expect to write only the Crown of Sonnets this year as far as poetry goes.  Other creative things will happen.  Maybe lots of them.  I’ll share.

BA 1: Fri-ku.  For the number of words involved, a haiku (an haiku?) takes a long time to write.  But that’s relative.  It’s a time measured in a very small number of minutes.  I started on the 1st of January and I’ll try to post one every Friday just for fun.  Fri-ku.

BA2: I’ve written a zombie version of the April Wine song “Bad Side of the Moon”, calling me “Dead Side of the Moon”.  I’ll post it when I’ve read it over a couple more times for possibly changes.

BA3: Inspired by driving to and from work in some heavy snowfall in the last week, I’ve written a parody of “Rocket Man” called “Long, Long Drive”.  Will probably also get posted.

I’m also going to start on my website in the next week or so, beginning with buying a domain name, but only if I’m caught up reading for Distant Worlds.  It’s going to be a WordPress site, I think, so I’m doing some reading on how the software works.  I don’t want to spend a lot of time fumbling around to get things up and running.

So, there’s Update Number 1.  Seems like a lot, but I’m just getting started and there’s a lot of 2010 left to go.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

