Small Realities

Inside the mind of Lance Schonberg

Licensing and Piracy

Normal
0

false
false
false

EN-CA
X-NONE
X-NONE

/* Style Definitions */
table.MsoNormalTable
{mso-style-name:”Table Normal”;
mso-tstyle-rowband-size:0;
mso-tstyle-colband-size:0;
mso-style-noshow:yes;
mso-style-priority:99;
mso-style-qformat:yes;
mso-style-parent:””;
mso-padding-alt:0cm 5.4pt 0cm 5.4pt;
mso-para-margin-top:0cm;
mso-para-margin-right:0cm;
mso-para-margin-bottom:10.0pt;
mso-para-margin-left:0cm;
line-height:115%;
mso-pagination:widow-orphan;
font-size:12.0pt;
mso-bidi-font-size:11.0pt;
font-family:”Bookman Old Style”,”serif”;
mso-fareast-language:EN-US;}

Cory Doctorow is famous in certain circles for, among other things, saying “my biggest threat as an author isn’t piracy, it’s obscurity.”  Like Cory, I’m not all that concerned about my work being pirated.  Not for exactly the same reasons, of course, but I’ve got two:

Normal
0

false
false
false

EN-CA
X-NONE
X-NONE

Cory Doctorow is famous in certain circles for, among other
things, saying “my biggest threat as an author isn’t piracy, it’s
obscurity.”Like Cory, I’m not all that
concerned about my work being pirated.Not for exactly the same reasons, of course, but I’ve got two:

/* Style Definitions */
table.MsoNormalTable
{mso-style-name:”Table Normal”;
mso-tstyle-rowband-size:0;
mso-tstyle-colband-size:0;
mso-style-noshow:yes;
mso-style-priority:99;
mso-style-qformat:yes;
mso-style-parent:””;
mso-padding-alt:0cm 5.4pt 0cm 5.4pt;
mso-para-margin-top:0cm;
mso-para-margin-right:0cm;
mso-para-margin-bottom:10.0pt;
mso-para-margin-left:0cm;
line-height:115%;
mso-pagination:widow-orphan;
font-size:12.0pt;
mso-bidi-font-size:11.0pt;
font-family:”Bookman Old Style”,”serif”;
mso-fareast-language:EN-US;}

1.   I currently suffer from considerably more obscurity than Cory Doctorow.  Almost no one has heard of me.  I’ve seen print in a limited way so far.  How likely is it anyone will want to pirate my work?

2.   There’s really not all that much of my work available to be pirated yet.

Point number 2 is going to change dramatically this year.  I hope point number 1 will, too, but that’s up to the effort I put into things and how well those things are received.

There’s an old expression: “Start as you mean to go on.”  In other words, put your best effort forward and keep it there.  Act like your venture is already successful.  It’s good advice, and if you’re wondering how it relates to my lack of concern about piracy, I’m taking a proactive step.  If I post something you like, go ahead and copy it, post it somewhere else, send it to your friends, whatever.  Everything on this blog, unless otherwise noted, is now under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 2.5 Canada License.

Wow, that’s a mouthful.

Translated:  you can copy anything on this blog as much as you like and send it to anyone you like as long as you attach my name to it (Attribution), don’t try to make money from it (Noncommercial) and don’t change it in any way (No Derivative Works).

Seems fair, doesn’t it?

Start as you mean to go on.  I’ve had three stories published so far with a few more already slotted for 2010 and big plans for this year and beyond.  Will I be successful?  Who knows, but if I take the step now to make sure anything I throw out into the wild keeps my name attached to it, that might help keep the obscurity at bay in the future.

(For those curious, details on CC licensing, including the complete legalese, can be found on the main Creative Commons website.  Any of the jurisdictional sites, like the Canadian one, will lead you back to the same licensing info.)

 
Creative Commons License
Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

