Small Realities

Inside the mind of Lance Schonberg

Parody Song – Long, Long Drive

Normal
0

false
false
false

EN-CA
X-NONE
X-NONE

MicrosoftInternetExplorer4

/* Style Definitions */
table.MsoNormalTable
{mso-style-name:”Table Normal”;
mso-tstyle-rowband-size:0;
mso-tstyle-colband-size:0;
mso-style-noshow:yes;
mso-style-priority:99;
mso-style-qformat:yes;
mso-style-parent:””;
mso-padding-alt:0cm 5.4pt 0cm 5.4pt;
mso-para-margin-top:0cm;
mso-para-margin-right:0cm;
mso-para-margin-bottom:10.0pt;
mso-para-margin-left:0cm;
line-height:115%;
mso-pagination:widow-orphan;
font-size:11.0pt;
font-family:”Calibri”,”sans-serif”;
mso-ascii-font-family:Calibri;
mso-ascii-theme-font:minor-latin;
mso-fareast-font-family:”Times New Roman”;
mso-fareast-theme-font:minor-fareast;
mso-hansi-font-family:Calibri;
mso-hansi-theme-font:minor-latin;
mso-bidi-font-family:”Times New Roman”;
mso-bidi-theme-font:minor-bidi;}

This is not one of the official Acts, but a parody song inspired by recent snow-filled commutes I’ve had to make.  I mentioned this in last week’s Year of Creation Update: Bonus Act #3, “Long, Long Drive” to the tune of “Rocket Man”.  In my head, I hear Elton John singing, but it might be funnier in a William Shatner voice.  Whichever you prefer. 
 

I gassed the car up right, pre-light
Zero hour, nine a.m.
And I’m gonna be cold and afraid by then
I miss the spring so much, I miss the fall
And summer would be great
It’s such a cold, white ride 

And I think it’s gonna be a long, long drive
And I just want to get to work alive
I wish that I had just stayed back at home
Oh no no no, I’m a commuting guy
Commuting guy, driving through the snow out here alone 

And I think it’s gonna be a long, long time
Till snowploughs scrape away the snow to find
It’s not the road I think I’m on at all
Oh no no no, I’m a commuting guy
Commuting guy, driving through the snow out here alone 

Work ain’t the kind of place to drive your car
Not when it’s cold as hell
And there’s no way that the defrost will keep your windows clear
And all this snowfall I just can’t stand
I have to drive five days a week
Commuting guy, commuting guy 

 

And I think it’s gonna be a long, long drive
And I just want to get to work alive
I wish that I had just stayed back at home
Oh no no no, I’m a commuting guy
Commuting guy, driving through the snow out here alone 

And I think it’s gonna be a long, long time
Till snowploughs scrape away the snow to find
It’s not the road I think I’m on at all
Oh no no no, I’m a commuting guy
Commuting guy, driving through the snow out here alone  

And I think it’s gonna be a long, long drive
And I think it’s gonna be a long, long drive
And I think it’s gonna be a long, long drive
And I think it’s gonna be a long, long drive

You know, if anyone has some karoake software and can sing…

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

