Small Realities

Inside the mind of Lance Schonberg

Year of Creation Update #3

Normal
0

false
false
false

EN-CA
X-NONE
X-NONE

/* Style Definitions */
table.MsoNormalTable
{mso-style-name:”Table Normal”;
mso-tstyle-rowband-size:0;
mso-tstyle-colband-size:0;
mso-style-noshow:yes;
mso-style-priority:99;
mso-style-qformat:yes;
mso-style-parent:””;
mso-padding-alt:0cm 5.4pt 0cm 5.4pt;
mso-para-margin-top:0cm;
mso-para-margin-right:0cm;
mso-para-margin-bottom:10.0pt;
mso-para-margin-left:0cm;
line-height:115%;
mso-pagination:widow-orphan;
font-size:11.0pt;
font-family:”Calibri”,”sans-serif”;
mso-ascii-font-family:Calibri;
mso-ascii-theme-font:minor-latin;
mso-fareast-font-family:”Times New Roman”;
mso-fareast-theme-font:minor-fareast;
mso-hansi-font-family:Calibri;
mso-hansi-theme-font:minor-latin;
mso-bidi-font-family:”Times New Roman”;
mso-bidi-theme-font:minor-bidi;}

Three weeks in and still going strong.  While a couple of things aren’t where I hoped they’d be, I’m switching back to nights in another week and gain a bunch of hours each week when no one else is awake.  Plenty of time to get things done and not neglect my growing list of chores, either.

So, progress in week 3:

Act 1: Project Stoneweaver. 11,056 words total, putting me more than 500 words up on where I wanted to be by now.  I think I’m within 1,000 words of finishing Chapter 6 and a thickening of the plot from the reader’s perspective.  The story is ¾ roughed out and I’ve got an ending in mind, I think, so should have the basic plot done by the end of the month.

Act 4: Short Story #1. First draft of my “Quest for Atlantis” submission complete at 3,215 words.  Wait, that makes this story the first of the official Acts completed for the Year of Creation.  Cue the fanfare and cheering crowds.  Only 39 to go!

Act 26: Distant Worlds anthology.  Final submission count at 29 and I’ve got a lot of reading yet to do.  One submission already for Distant Realms (which opened when DW closed), but I’ve made the author aware that I’ll be finishing up on the SF novellas first.

Act 28: “Star Trek: Fractured Unity”.  I’ve discovered how to feed video into Audacity and get just the audio back.  It’s not that hard, but it hadn’t occurred to me to look for the feature.  This may solve my sound effects issues, but I don’t have the DVDs that cover all the sound effects and music I think I want.  Yes, I know this is technically illegal, but Paramount has been very cool about fan productions for the last few years and since I don’t plan to make any money from this production at all, I don’t think I’ll draw the ire of their legal department.  Backup: there were a handful of CDs put out some years back containing music and effects from the original series.  But I didn’t really plan to spend any money on this, either.  Still plan to cast in February.

Bonus Acts: a mediocre contribution to Fri-ku, but that’s about it.

That’s what I’ve spent my creative time on this week.  Like I said, one more week and I’m back on nights, so the list might get a little longer for the updates in February.  I’m still toying with the idea of a video or audio documentary or some sort.  Paleoboy has volunteered to be camera crew if needed, and I may take him up on that.  He’ll probably have to share duties with his sisters.

Next Update, January 27th.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

