Small Realities

Inside the mind of Lance Schonberg

Year of Creation Update #4

Normal
0

false
false
false

EN-CA
X-NONE
X-NONE

/* Style Definitions */
table.MsoNormalTable
{mso-style-name:”Table Normal”;
mso-tstyle-rowband-size:0;
mso-tstyle-colband-size:0;
mso-style-noshow:yes;
mso-style-priority:99;
mso-style-qformat:yes;
mso-style-parent:””;
mso-padding-alt:0cm 5.4pt 0cm 5.4pt;
mso-para-margin-top:0cm;
mso-para-margin-right:0cm;
mso-para-margin-bottom:10.0pt;
mso-para-margin-left:0cm;
line-height:115%;
mso-pagination:widow-orphan;
font-size:11.0pt;
font-family:”Calibri”,”sans-serif”;
mso-ascii-font-family:Calibri;
mso-ascii-theme-font:minor-latin;
mso-fareast-font-family:”Times New Roman”;
mso-fareast-theme-font:minor-fareast;
mso-hansi-font-family:Calibri;
mso-hansi-theme-font:minor-latin;
mso-bidi-font-family:”Times New Roman”;
mso-bidi-theme-font:minor-bidi;}

It’s the end of January already.  My production level has been pretty good, up to now, but I’m back on nights for four weeks and I’m gunning for a strong show during that time.  This is posted very early in my day so I haven’t done much writing yet and any word counts I note are as of going to bed early this morning.

Here we are after 4 weeks:

Act 1: Project Stoneweaver. 15,564 words total, about 1k ahead of schedule by timeline and 3,300 words long at the end of Chapter 7.  All the major plot points are in my head or on paper, but I’m hoping for some little twists along the way.  Starting Chapter 8 tonight.

Act 5: Short Story #2. 1,546 into a SF story tentatively titled “Pilgrimage”.  It’s related but not connected to a story I wrote last fall, originally slotted to submit to the Shine anthology, but didn’t come out nearly “positive” enough.  Still, it may have set me on an interesting path that could cover 10 of this year’s 18 stories if I want it to.

Act 26: Distant Worlds anthology.  I’ve got 8.5 stories left to read for the first round.  Then comes the hard part: choosing the final line up.

Act 27: Distant Realms anthology.  Five submissions so far and they’ve only been open for two weeks.  I have the feeling that I may get a lot more.

Act 28: “Star Trek: Fractured Unity”.  I’ve come up with nearly all of the sound effects I think I need.  Just short a couple of non standard ones, footsteps, and some Gorn weapons.  Casting call is going to go up on the 1st of Feb, I hope.

Bonus Acts: I’ve decided that there will be a podcast.  Episode 1 of The Adventures of Writing Dad will drop as soon as I figure out theme music, with further episodes every couple of weeks.  The first episode is about the Year of Creation, but the second is going to feature the audio version of a flash piece I wrote a while back called “Highway Pirates”.  The story runs about two minutes and has a guest voice.  I’m considering also sharing a poem to go along with it.

Still toying with the idea of a video documentary.  Paleoboy still willing to act as camera crew.  Need to find some way to make it exciting, though.

Next Update, February 3rd.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

