Small Realities

Inside the mind of Lance Schonberg

Happy Pi Day!

I missed Fri-ku this week.  Friday was crazy busy and by the time I even thought about it, Saturday was 2/3 over.  But I did have a tremendously productive Saturday, taking care of a bunch of professional correspondence on several fronts, taking care of a half dozen household chores, getting in 2500 words on my in progress novel and reading 1.5 stories for Distant Realms and even managing a bit of research for a future project.  Had it not been for a minor flood in the basement due to a sump pump failure, I’d predict today to be as productive, but here it is past one and I’m barely into the planned activities for the day.  Three hours of my life, gone, swallowed by a pointless mopping exercise.  How sad.

But we all survive and adapt and I got to listen to a few extra podcasts.

Celebrated the world over, today is Pi Day.  March 14th.  Three-fourteen.  There’s an official website, and a bunch of unofficial ones, fan pages and greeting cards, t-shirts and buttons, rap videos and party invitations.  People of all walks of life are able to take solace in the fact that one of the fundamental properties of the universe is a transcendental, irrational number.  If that doesn’t give you a warm, fuzzy feeling, then perhaps my announcement will.

I have discovered the true meaning of Pi Day!

Have a quick gander at today’s Tree Lobsters strip and you, too, can discover the hidden depth of significance in this most geeky of the High Geek Holidays.

Happy Pi Day!  And, if that’s not enough of a celebration for you, we’re a mere six days from the Spring Equinox.

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Happy Pi Day!

  1. I’m a pi-Day baby, yes — as was Albert Einstein! I’ve always been a bit proud of that.

    In other news, I may have a DISTANT REALMS submission for you. Working the kinks out of it.

Leave a Reply

