Small Realities

Inside the mind of Lance Schonberg

YoC Act Number 33: The Pop Song

Mentioned a couple of updates back that I’d finished the “Pop Song”.  “How Can I Live Without Her” is far more ballad than pop song, and a sad one at that, but I did promise to post it (as I’ll post most of the Year of Creation work) once I’d had a chance to smooth it out.  Well, I pulled it out this afternoon and did a little polishing.  If I do any more, I think it might lose something.  Just like when I posted “Klingons and Tribbles and Phasers, Oh My”, this goes under a Creative Commons Attribution 2.5 Canada License rather than the usual Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 2.5 Canada License.  That’s enough links for one paragraph.  Here’s the song.  It has a tune, but you’ll never catch me singing it.

It’s cold out every morning
And I never see the sun
Half my life is empty
I’m the only one
There’s nowhere I can turn to
That I can’t see her face
Every breath I take is painful
Her scent, I can’t erase

How can I live without her
When she’s all I’m living for
How can I live without her
And how did I ever live before

Drifting through the daytime
Lying awake at night
Shades pulled on the windows
‘Cause I can’t stand the light
Crying silent thunder
Tears mixed with the rain
Every touch a needle
And nothing dulls the pain

How can I live without her
When she’s all I’m living for
How can I live without her
And how did I ever live before

The world is dark and I can’t see
How everything keeps turning
My heart and blood keep burning
She’ll never come back to me

How can I live without her
When she’s all I’m living for
How can I live without her
And how did I ever live before

Not a moment goes by
When I can’t feel her touch
She’s far beyond my reach now
But I still try too much
The world may not be quiet
But that’s the way it seems
Sometimes I still see her
But only in my dreams

How can I live without her
When she’s all I’m living for
How can I live without her
And how did I ever live before

How can I live without her
When she’s all I’m living for
How can I live without her
And how did I ever live before

How can I live without her

How can I live without her

How can I live without her

How can I live without her

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

