Small Realities

Inside the mind of Lance Schonberg

Year of Creation Update #37

Wow.  It’s been more than a month since I’ve done one of these, and yet it’s not going to look like I have much to show for the time.  First, the rundown.

Act 9: Short Story.  Banged out a quick 500-word story using the prompt for NPR’s Three-Minute Fiction, which, being Canadian, I can’t actually enter.  The prompt itself is, at least in my opinion, not a display of good writing.  First sentence of the story must be: “Some people swore that the house was haunted.”  And the story has to end with: “Nothing was ever the same again after that.”  Since I can’t enter the contest, I can take “that” out of the first sentence and end the last at “again” and satisfy my own inner editor.  I’ll probably post this for #FridayFlash sometime in the next couple of weeks after it’s had a polish or two.

Act 26: Distant Worlds.  Revision notes are complete!  <cue applause>  Yes, that took a while.  I’ll try to do better going forward with Distant Realms.  I have two of the stories back already and we’ll take the next steps toward publication over the next few weeks.

Act 27: Distant Realms.  Second round reading done.  I’m involved in final decisions.  I hate final decisions because, at this point, I’m deciding between a bunch of stories I already know I like.  Not the most fun part of the process.  Accept and Decline letters going out beginning today.

Act 28: Fractured Unity.  Episode 1 will be complete (finally) by the end of the weekend.  Third and fourth scenes gave me some issues with noise removal, but I think I’m getting better with audio editing.  Having said that, something in Episode 2 will probably throw me for a complete loop.

Act 36: Photo Essay.  I’ve started taking the pictures for this, but the subject may be morphing a bit.  We’ll see what this winds up as.

Act 37: Comic Strip.  Debating “The Adventures of Writing Dad” versus “A Cat’s Life”.  Some pretty funny things happen to the cats in our house and they contribute to the humour, too.  Could be fun.  Stick figure art, more or less, and I’ve already done a couple of sketches.

The Offspring are back in school.  One would think that should result in more free time.  Whoever’s thinking that should rethink.  The first few weeks of school are for sliding back into a routine, particularly for catching buses and sleeping.  But it will settle out, probably by the end of the month.  My shift rotation at work has changed, too, but based on the new rotation, I’ve tried to plot out what’s feasible for the rest of the year.  The whole list of 40 Acts won’t get done (I’ll most notably be short on the two novel projects, and don’t think I’ll get all of the short stories in at this point, but c’est la vie), but it might work out to be a decent showing overall.  NaNoWriMo is on the horizon, too.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

