Small Realities

Inside the mind of Lance Schonberg

State of the WAL

It’s time I made an announcement.  I’ve accepted the position of “Executive Librarian – Fantasy Branch” for the Library of the Living Dead family of publishing imprints.

Some of you may be thinking I’m crazy.  Others may question how I’ll possibly have time or what’s happening with the remaining months of the Year of Creation.  Or perhaps you’ve stumbled upon this blog by accident and have no idea what I’m talking about.

In order:  

  1. Life is too short to be sane all the time. 
  2. Careful time management and the love and support of my family.
  3. I think I’ve more or less decided that, due to life circumstances, it’s going to be the Year-and-a-half-or-so of Creation.
  4. Have a look around and see if there’s anything you like.  There are a bunch of YoC things I need to post, but “Thorvald’s Wyrd” is still an ongoing web serial (with, at the moment, the next five scenes queued up to auto-post and the ten beyond that edited to my satisfaction so no more delays there).

On a slightly more serious note, this is a really cool opportunity and I do hope I have the skills to live up to it.  I’m told there are already a couple of projects headed my way and I’ve got a bunch of thoughts that need to coalesce before I can start to make concrete plans for the imprint, never mind checking those with my new boss and what he envisions for the Fantasy Branch.

2010, whatever anyone might say about it, has been a challenging year for me on several fronts and has made me realize more keenly than ever where the important things are.  No problem has been insurmountable, but I’ve slowly learned to rearrange my time to focus on those important things.

2011 will undoubtedly bring new challenges and being an Executive Librarian (you can loosely translate this to something like Senior Editor) is among them.  It will stretch me in new directions and teach me new things and both of those are important to me too.  But it’s going to be a lot of fun mixed with the hard work, and that’s just as important.

It will affect my writing (because I’ve been oh so productive this year), but it won’t bring it to a halt.  Post NaNoWriMo, I have my next novel in mind and a beautiful idea (at least to me) for a set of related short stories that might work well as a collection.  They’ll all just be written at a slower rate than I’d originally thought, and that’s okay, too.  Five hundred words per day seems reasonable; 20-30 minutes of my own work per day plus maybe the same of revisions on “completed” work, and I’ve got plenty of that waiting for me, too.  (See this post.)

None of those stories will be Fantasy.  I’m not likely to write much Fantasy will heading up the

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

