Small Realities

Inside the mind of Lance Schonberg

Moving Forward

So here’s my first non-fiction post of the year, but it’s still about fiction, mostly.

It feels weird, after just about seven months of posting 3-6 scenes per week of “Thorvald’s Wyrd”, to suddenly not be posting fiction to my blog.  (And yes, back before Christmas, I noted that I planned to get back to the basics of blogging, at least as they work for me.  This is the beginning of that and “the basics” will include some fiction posted.  I also had intended a domain name for my 40th birthday present, but got something else instead.  It’s coming.).

It’s a great debate, at least internally.  I’ve enjoyed posting a piece of my work, serialized, for the world to enjoy and the comments and feedback I’ve gotten have been pretty favourable, enough that I’m going to go ahead with “Thorvald’s Wyrd” the podcast as soon as I can find the time (and likely “Thorvald’s Wyrd” the self-published print book, too).  But what do I post next?  I’ve got a couple of flash pieces that will come shortly, and some YoC stuff that was promised long ago and not yet delivered, but the serial is cool.  I just don’t want to do a daily release thing again just yet.

But maybe weekly.  there’s this novella I wrote a while back that I was supposed to finish polishing last year.  I dragged it out again to poke with a stick a little while ago and it reads pretty well.  A few touch-ups here and there and I think it might do very nicely for a web-serial, although scene lengths range between 300 and 3000 words, so I’ll have to be careful how I break things out.  If you’re curious, it’s a science fiction piece entitled “Turn the World Around” and there might be some references to it in some ancient personal blog posts that I don’t have the time to dig up right now.  Yes, it’s a reference to the Harry Bellafonte song of the same name and takes some inspiration from it, too.  And yes, this is the Novella I’d intended to podcast for the Year-and-a-half-or-so Of Creation.  That’ll come, too.

I really like “Turn the World Around”, but in a completely different way than “Thorvald’s Wyrd”.  The two stories are very different, but both very fun in their own ways.  I suppose it shouldn’t ever surprise me that my writing habits are as eclectic as my reading habits.

On a very different note, yes, there are a lot of other things I’m supposed to be doing, but I’m not going to do a lot of progress updates or status reports this year.  Maybe I’ll toss something on the sidebar from time to time, but that will probably do.  I think reporting gets a little boring if you do it too often, and I did it far too often last year.

I’ve also got some stuff going on that’s not creative and most of it I’m not going to talk about until maybe after it’s over.  We’ll see how things play out.  And there’s also a long overdue family vacation that’s been put off several times due to changing circumstances at my day job or other life issues.  But an opportunity has presented and been seized.  More on that eventually, but the other stuff is a bigger deal overall and the short of it is that I’m going to be mostly offline for the next couple of weeks, still writing, hoping to do a lot of editing during part of that time, but offline because the real world requires the bulk of my attention.  Family first.

Stay tuned.  I’ll be less vague in a while, at least a little.  Promise.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

