Small Realities

Inside the mind of Lance Schonberg

Lance Got New Shoes

One of the things I’m supposed to do for the Renaissance Year is get myself back into running shape again, at least to the point where I’m running 5k a couple of times per week.  I’ve made a couple of starts on the treadmill, but eased away from it because the shoes I had handy were too old and probably wouldn’t be good for my feet or already tight calves if I tried to do any serious running in them.

Well, that excuse is gone now. These are my new running shoes:

My New Shoes

Size 10

Yes, they’re on the dining room table, but they haven’t been worn anywhere yet and the table will get cleaned off at least twice before we eat on it again.  The point is, now I’ve got nothing to fall back on but pure laziness.  I suppose you should never underestimate the power of laziness, but I’m remembering all of the benefits I get from running, aside from the extra calories burnt and the exercise: peace, tranquility, and clarity of thought.

Yes, really.  When you’re focused on just putting one foot in front of the other and maintaining that rhythmic pattern of breathing that makes everything work at just the right efficiency to feel like you can do it forever, all distractions fall away and there’s nothing left but the moment.  I do some of my best thinking and philosophizing when I’m running, or I used to.

And I think I may again.  Maybe even this afternoon.  Or maybe not—it’s very warm out. (Or is laziness rearing its ugly head?)

Wish me luck.  No, better yet, wish me endurance.  It’s been a while, so I’m going to need some.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

