Small Realities

Inside the mind of Lance Schonberg

Ring Tones

I almost feel like I’m cheating with this post.

Do you have any idea how easy it is to make your own ringtones?  Why would anyone pay for one?  I should rephrase the second question: why would anyone pay more for one than it costs to download the song you want to use?

I suppose the answer is convenience, but really, it’s a simple 5-step process. And it’s quick and fun.

  1. open up the song in some easy editing software (I like Audacity, because it’s free and does a lot of other stuff, but there are  a lot of low-cost choices available.)
  2. Set the time index where you want the ring to start and delete everything before it.
  3. set the time index to 30s later (a limit on a lot of phones and, apparently, I-phones) and delete everything after it
  4. Export/Save as an MP3 file, naming it whatever you like.
  5. Copy the file to your phone (or drag it into Ringtones in I-tunes).

 That’s it, you’re done.

I’ve made a dozen so far.  Once you’ve got the process worked out, it takes less than a minute.  I might be on a quest to have everyone in my address book have their own ringtones, but at the moment, my default is set to the Camelot song, from Monty Python and the Holy Grail.  My son will get this one as his own. My wife’s cell number is now set to “Follow You, Follow Me” by Genesis and, to continue in that theme, our home number rings as “Take Me Home” by Phil Collins.

I am such a geek.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

