Small Realities

Inside the mind of Lance Schonberg

Where’s that Bucket List?

First, I fully admit that the timing of this post looks like I’m cheating on the November Blog Plan, but I’m working nights right now, so my day typically runs from 2 pm to 630 or 7 am.  This is still the 24th for me. 

At any rate, I’ve been thinking a lot about my life lately—maybe rethinking is a better word in some ways—and in light of various events in the past year or two, I’m forced to admit that yes, I am mortal.  Which sucks, I suppose, but that’s how it is, even for me.  I suppose I’ve always known, but knowing it and really understanding it are two different things.

Closing in on my 41st birthday, I’ve made myself realize that there are a lot of things I’ve never done or seen that I still want to.  And so, a Bucket List.  Or a life list, or a dream list or whatever you want to call it.  I fully expect to add to it over time, but as of today there are 112 things on it.

Some of them are travel goals.  Saint-Louis-du-Ha! Ha!, Québec, for example.  Yes, I swear that’s a real place.  It’s even on Wikipedia.  I want to see the Pyramids (Egyptian and Azetc), the Great Wall, and a whole lot of historical (some of them even personal, or at least ancestral) spots inEurope.  I want to go toJapan and the Galapagos and Vulcan andAbbey Road, and a fair number of other places, too.

There are adventures I need to have.  Some of them are little, like riding a mechanical bull or going hang gliding or walking on a glacier.  Some of them are a little (or a lot) bigger, like fire walking or forging a sword, sailing in a knarr or going into space, learning to surf or singing in public.

I want to complete an Ironman triathlon, learn to say hello in at least fifty languages, swim with sharks, run with the bulls, eat fugu fish, get my black belt in karate, ride in a WWII plane, see a total solar eclipse, get more tattoos, participate in a flash mob, live in another country for a year, jump out of an airplane, dress in costume for a convention, do a polar bear swim, and stand on the Arctic Circle.

And dammit, I want to dance at all of my grandchildren’s weddings.  My great grandchildren’s, too, if I can manage it.

I’m not quite 41 and while I’d like to live forever, I can’t assume I will.  However long I’m around, I want it to be a great life and I’ll take as many of the people around me along for the ride as I can.

And that’s the most important item on the list.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

